Uncategorized

Going Vegan

Hey Everyone,

I don’t remember if I mentioned it in the last post or not, but I’m trying to go vegan. Or mostly vegan. Please don’t give me a hard time about the mostly vegan part, isn’t it better that I’m doing my best and lessening my impact on the world versus being 100% vegan and being miserable? Also, please keep in mind that not everyone can go 100% vegan due to some dietary/health issues so I hope anyone reading this can keep the attitude of “every little bit helps”.

I’m sure most of you know, but for those that don’t, vegan is living a lifestyle that doesn’t use animal products. Of any kind. That includes eggs, honey, leather, wool, etc. Anything that was made from, or came from, an animal isn’t allowed. So, when I say I’m going mostly vegan I mean I’m avoiding the majority of animal products. I’m not going to eat eggs for breakfast, but I’m not going to avoid eating some things that are made with eggs. Like when my roommate makes cake or banana bread. She is not vegan and I don’t expect her to become vegan, so if she makes something with eggs, or another non-vegan product I’m not going to harass her or refuse to touch it. For me and my lifestyle it’s unrealistic. I’m limiting my animal product consumption all the way around and that’s a good thing. I’m also not cutting out mayonnaise. I know it’s made with eggs, but until I find a mayo substitute that I enjoy I’m going to stick with mayo. Sorry guys.

I’m not eating meat of any kind. I’m also going to do my best to go dairy free. I say my best because I’m still trying things out and I’m not sure how the dairy substitutes are going to sit in my stomach. Some people have a hard time with some of the non-dairy alternatives. I just ate some Daiya pizza with non-dairy cheese on it, and while it wasn’t horrible, it wasn’t amazing either and my stomach feels a touch upset, so I’m not sure I’ll be able to eat that particular brand, or potentially any of the vegan cheeses.

I’m going to eat a lot more plant based foods. Lots more vegetables. I’ve already made vegetarian/vegan fajitas using sweet potato, zucchini, and bell peppers. They were pretty tasty and I didn’t really miss having meat in there. Next time I’m going to add some mushrooms and onions. I’ve already cut out milk because I ran out of regular dairy milk and just didn’t bother to buy more. I’m using a vanilla almond milk instead which isn’t bad. The consistency is what bothers me most about milk alternatives. I feel like almond milk and a lot of the other non-dairy milks are kind of watery in comparison and that bugs me a little bit. But I’m managing.

Granted, this is only my first real week giving this a shot. But even if I don’t make it forever, or only make it a month, I tried and for a little while I lessened the impact. That’s really what is most important to me. I know there are some health benefits, and potentially some health concerns when going vegan, but I’m being careful, and I’m trying to be smart about it. I’m paying attention to my body and watching out for any signs that this might be damaging versus helpful.

Please don’t beat me up for this post. If you aren’t supportive, that’s okay, just please don’t share those thoughts. If I’m not vegan enough for you, same thing, please don’t share those thoughts. Putting me down and telling me I’m not good enough isn’t going to help me be better at being vegan, it’s going to make me want to give up. That doesn’t help anyone. Please just, wish me luck, leave any tips or tricks in the comments below and feel free to be supportive.

Thanks in advance. Hope you’re all doing well. Talk again soon.

1 thought on “Going Vegan”

Leave a Reply

