Uncategorized

What Am I Going to Do?

Hey Everyone,

So I’m kind of freaking out. I know I’ve mentioned before that I’m moving, and have moved. I’m in Oregon now and have finally gotten mostly settled in my place, but I’m moving again soonish farther north. And when I move north to live with my friend Carrot I am only allowed to bring two of my dogs.

I thought I had it all figured out, my cousin was going to take one of my dogs, Daisy, leaving me with two dogs.

I want to make sure this is understood before this goes any further: I DO NOT in any way shape or form want to get rid of one of my dogs. I am a firm believer in the idea that once an animal is brought into the home it is there for life. The only exceptions to this I can see is if the person is legitimately unable to care for the animal anymore. Then I can see rehoming the animal. But as that is not entirely the case with what’s going on with me I want to be very clear in saying that I am not excited about this, I do not want to do this, and if I could see a way around it I would be doing that instead. Unfortunately the only option I have available to me is to find a home for one of my fur children.

Unfortunately my cousin’s landlord says she can’t have a dog. Which is crazy because she had a dog, and the dog passed away not that long ago. She’s already paid the pet deposit and was allowed to have a dog, so for the landlord to say no, now, to a smaller, less complicated dog is just rude. But it’s my problem, not theirs.

While getting rid of any of my dogs is in no way an ideal situation, having Daisy go live with my cousin would have been the best solution possible for me. She would have been with someone I know, someone I see regularly, someone who would take wonderful care of her, someone who wants her. Now, since that isn’t happening I have no idea what to do.

I always thought rehoming Daisy would be easiest because she’s small and super sweet, but thinking about where I’ll be living, although it might be more difficult, it might be better for me to rehome Brena. The apartment I’ll be living in is going to be fairly small, and I don’t want to impose on Carrot anymore than will happen anyway.

This dilemma is killing me. I honestly don’t know what to do. I can’t imagine not having any of my dogs. It hurts so much to think about finding a new home for one of them. But I don’t know what else to do. Daisy is smaller and so sweet, she’d be easy to keep in an apartment. But Brena is a total sweetheart too. I love them both. So much. Finding Kaylee a new home isn’t even an option. She’s too attached to me, doesn’t even want to eat when I’m not home.

I know logically that I have to start looking for a new home for one of them. But it’s killing me that it will probably end up being a stranger that takes them. I wanted them to go into a home with someone I know and trust and will get to see and visit so I don’t lose them completely. But I don’t think that’s going to happen now and part of me is dying inside.

Leave a Reply

