Uncategorized

Check In

Hey Everyone,

I’m so sorry I’ve been gone for so long. Life has been a little bit crazy since I’ve decided to move. I’ve been packing in most of my spare time, or spending time with family and friends in preparation for leaving. Although I’ve had a decent amount of time to prepare, I feel like the time to actually move has kind of snuck up on me.

So in the last couple of weeks, I’ve packed the majority of my things, and gotten rid of as much stuff as I could. I seriously went through everything I own and got rid of a ton of stuff that I decided I just didn’t need anymore. I’ve always been really bad at getting rid of things but I think I did a pretty decent job. I got rid of one really huge box of stuff, and a couple smaller boxes and a couple bags of clothes. I was going to try to sell a bunch of it in like a yard sale or something, but I don’t want to leave things for my grandparents to deal with and I can’t hold a yard sale before I leave. There just isn’t time and the weather has been kind of wonky so there’s no guarantee the weather will cooperate. Plus, I work weekends so it would be really hard to me to have an actual yard sale since I’ll be at work during the days that a yard sale will normally take place.

Okay, anyway, I got rid of a bunch of stuff. Even weeded some movies out of my DVD collection. Not a bunch, but some. I love movies and DVDs so getting rid of any is kind of a huge accomplishment for me. I think I got rid of about 15. Pretty big for me.

So since I’m not going to actually sell anything I’m just going to take everything to Good Will and donate it all. Hopefully it’ll do some good for someone.

I seriously have packed almost everything. I have my most worn clothing stuff still out and stuff that I’m going to need until I leave, but it’s been decided that I’m leaving in about two weeks. My niece’s birthday is on the first of April so my dad and step mom are going to come down to celebrate her birthday and pick up all of my stuff at the same time. It makes sense to do both things at the same time. So I’ll be moving on the second or third of April. Depends on what their actual plans are. Maybe even the first, but I doubt it since we’re supposed to be celebrating that day. We shall see what happens.

My dad has decided to build my little house thing versus renting/buying a little building for me to live in. As of the other day he hadn’t really gotten started yet, but living on the Oregon coast means lots of rain. And rain is not conducive to building. Especially when you’re using wood and stuff. So he’s been waiting for some decent weather before  he really gets started. But he was talking about trying to put up some kind of tent because he’s worried that he’s not going to be able to get it done before I get there. He’s pretty sure once he gets started it’ll only take him about a week and worst case scenario I can help him finish it after I get there. It wouldn’t be the first time I camped out up there.

I finally put in my notice at work. I was super nervous and ended up telling them that I was moving due to family and health issues. Which isn’t a total lie. I’m moving because of my mental health. And it’s because my family is there that I’m moving where I am. So it isn’t a total lie, but I think it at least softened the blow of my leaving. Especially since they just sat me down about a week and a half ago to tell me how much they appreciate all the work I put into the business and how much they love having me there and that I’m doing such a good job. And they gave me a dollar raise. So I felt even more guilty for putting in my notice, and only giving them 15 days. I mean, it’s slightly more than what is standard, and I will be working a full two weeks schedule before I leave. But I know they have a hard time finding replacement people so I feel a little bad for not giving them more notice. But I honestly didn’t want to give my notice until I knew when I was leaving because I didn’t want them to replace me, or decide I could stop working sooner rather than later, because I still need the paychecks.

Luckily they took it really well, and although they’re disappointed that I’m leaving they said they understand. So that’s a big weight off my mind and my shoulders. And now that I know when I’m actually going to be moving I can fully pack and get things done.

My sister and her boyfriend were super awesome and came to help with the yard. They spend the weekend working on the backyard here. It’s kind of hard to explain, but my front, side and part of my backyard is just normal grass, but the rest of the backyard area is  dirt and weeds. While my grandparents are here the weeds are sprayed and mowed so they don’t get out of control, but because we live in the country and in farm territory it’s really hard to control all of the weeds and keep them from being here all together. It just doesn’t work. And we have a LARGE area that consists of our yard space. So since my grandparents have been gone for months the weeds have taken over and been growing out of control. I feel guilty about it, but I wasn’t left with any real tools or instructions on how to take care of it while they’re gone. And with the super rainy weather and stuff it wasn’t going to be easy for me to take care of it even if I had everything I needed to do so.

So my awesome sister and her boyfriend came for a weekend and they got the riding mower and the weed eater started and working and took care of about 2/3 of the weeds in the backyard area. It isn’t perfect, it still actually looks pretty bad, but it’s way better than it was and they said they’re going to try to come back to finish up the big stuff. It’ll still need attention when my grandparents get back, but it won’t be totally out of control which makes all of us feel better. Makes me feel a lot less guilty for sure. I really didn’t want my grandparents to come home to a yard full of waist high weeds.

So all I really have left to do is finish packing up my things, which won’t take too long because most of what’s left is stuff I’m using and stuff that I’ll need almost as soon as I get there. Bedding, clothes, shower stuff, etc. Besides packing I’m going to make sure that the house itself is as clean as possible and picked up and organized and stuff before I leave. I don’t want my grandparents to come home to a mess or any more work than is necessary.

I’ve made sure to stock up on some of the basics so when they get here they won’t have to go to the store right away to get things. I mean, they’ll need to go get groceries, but they won’t need toilet paper, paper towels, paper plates, cleaning products, trash bags, water, etc. I just want to make sure the absolute basics are here. But I’m not leaving perishable foods when I go. Everything needs to be eaten or tossed out before I leave. I definitely don’t want them to come home to a disgusting fridge or gross food on the counters.

That’s basically what has been going on with me. I’ve been doing nothing but packing and visiting for the last couple of weeks. And now that I know that I’m leaving in like two weeks the need to pack and get things clean and stuff is even more so. The one request my dad and step mom had for me in terms of the move was that I make sure that the house is all cleaned up before they get here so we aren’t trying to get things cleaned up and ready while we’re trying to pack up and leave. So that’s my biggest job in the next two weeks since I’m mostly packed. I just really need to make sure everything is cleaned up and put away and not a mess.

So yeah, that’s what’s been up with me and what will be up with me over the next two weeks. I’ll try to check in a little more often over the next two weeks, but we will see how busy things get.

Tomorrow I’m babysitting for a friend and then she, her boyfriend, and I are going out to dinner as a meet-the-boyfriend/goodbye dinner. I’m sure I’ll see her a couple more times before I leave, but I haven’t met her boyfriend yet because of scheduling stuff so we made it a point to find a time to do dinner to make sure we got to meet before I move.

Okay, I’m going to shut up now because this is super long already. I just felt really bad for not having checked in in such a long time. Hope everyone is having a lovely month of March! Talk to you all soon!

Leave a Reply

