Uncategorized

Update on Being Sick

Hey Guys,

So I’ve been sick for over a week now. As I’m writing this it’s Wednesday the 8th and I’m still not all the way better. Although I’m doing a lot better than I was I still feel kinda crappy and cough fairly regularly. The biggest problem lately has been headaches. All the coughing is wreaking havoc on my head.

My head hurts so much most of the time that I don’t want to do anything but sleep. I know part of the problem is all the screen time I’ve been doing lately. I’ve been trying to work a lot on this blog and I’ve been watching a lot of YouTube/Netflix/Amazon Instant Video on my phone. The TV doesn’t bother my eyes as much because it’s farther away I think, but my phone is always so much closer to my face.

I’ve turned the brightness down on my computer and phone to the point where the screen is almost black because the light hurts my head so much. And the volume on everything is super low.

But my head still hurts. A lot.

On a regular day I can take a nap to help get rid of my headache and that will make a huge difference. Usually even a 20 minute power nap will get rid of the worst of the pain and I’ll be fine for hours afterwards. But with being sick I can nap for 2o minutes to 2 hours and the more severe pain will come back sometimes as quickly as 5 minutes after waking up. It’s really frustrating.

Being sick is never fun, but even on my worst illness days, when it felt like my throat was going to swell shut and I could barely swallow, at least my head didn’t hurt so much and I could get up and do other things. I spent a lot of time cleaning and getting house work done. But I can’t do that now. My head hurts all the time. Every time I cough it’s like someone is stabbing my brain with a blunt knife over and over. It’s kind of awful.

Actually, it just plain is awful.

I went to the doctor yesterday, Tuesday, because the cough hasn’t really gone away. It’s gotten a little better, less severe, and my throat isn’t as swollen, but I’m still coughing a lot and I want to make sure this goes away by Saturday so I can get back to work. As much as I’d rather not go to work, I need to go in order to pay my bills. So back to work I’ll go on Saturday.

My doctor did a step test to make sure that I don’t need antibiotics, and it came back negative. So luckily I don’t have strep, just some kind of viral infection. Because the coughing is still fairly bad she gave me a prescription for Flonase to help with the sinus drip or whatever it’s called, where my sinuses drain and drip down the back of my throat which can add to the coughing trigger. She also gave me a prescription for a heavy duty cough syrup with codeine in it. Mostly to help me sleep. Although I’m not sure it’s working.

They told me to take a teaspoon (5 mL) of the cough syrup every 4 or 6 hours (can’t remember which right now). I’m not sure if it’s my weight, or my natural tolerance for medications, but a teaspoon doesn’t seem to make a difference to my cough, or my ability to sleep. I upped the dosage of 10 mL today to see if that will help, but I haven’t noticed a difference so far. We’ll see how it goes.

Today feels different than the other days that I’ve been sick. I don’t know if it’s my head or something else, but I feel almost sick to my stomach. I’m shaky and in general feel yucky. I haven’t eaten much today, but I don’t feel hungry, so I’m not sure if a lack of food has something to do with it or not. I know that I generally get sick to my stomach when I have sinus drainage but it hasn’t been this bad the whole time I’ve been sick.

I’m not entirely sure what the difference is. But it sucks. Basically that’s my update. I’m not super sick, I don’t need antibiotics, and I’m no longer contagious. As long as I’m not coughing like a maniac still on Friday then I should be fine to go to work on Saturday. I really need to get back to work even though I don’t want to. Hopefully tomorrow I won’t feel so sick and I’ll get the house cleaned up and get some other things done that I need to do to be productive.

Leave a Reply

