Uncategorized

Productive, but Not

Hey Everyone,

So today is going to be an interesting day. I’m feeling like I want to be super productive and get things done, but I’m kind of sick and it’s making me want to lay around in bed or on the couch and just rest up. Tomorrow I have big plans and I don’t want to be miserable for them.

Was supposed to get my hair done today, but since I’m feeling sick my stylist and I both decided it was best I not come in. She works alone and has her own business and she can’t afford to be sick. Luckily for us both we are friends on Facebook so when I posted about feeling sick she immediately asked if I’d like to reschedule. At first I was a little miffed at being asked to reschedule my appointment over a little sore throat, but I had also decided if I didn’t feel better by this morning I was going to ask to reschedule anyway. Scheduling with her can be hard so I didn’t want to reschedule if I didn’t have to, but I also really didn’t want to make her sick. I think I was just miffed at the idea that she thought I would risk getting her sick, more than having to reschedule.

Anyway, she texted me this morning to see how I was feeling and when I told her what was going on she said that it’s been going around a lot lately and can get pretty bad for some people, so we rescheduled me for next week. Was surprised she had another appointment available so soon, but I switched from a color to just a trim so that makes it easier. She can just work me in between other people.

So, I had a hard time sleeping last night because of all this crap in my throat/sinuses. Luckily, for me anyway, it’s always way worse at night than it is during the day, so I’m feeling better now than I was last night. I still feel tired though. And kind of off. I physically don’t want to do anything, but mentally I really do. My house is kind of a mess, or at least my kitchen is, and I really want to get it cleaned up, but I’m not sure I feel up to doing a bunch of dishes. We will see how the day progresses, it’s actually still pretty early, not even 10 am yet.

Tomorrow is going to be awesome though! Even if I am still feeling a bit under the weather. My friend and I are supposed to hang out for most of the day and do some shopping. Nothing major because neither of us can afford it, but I want to find a cheap nightstand/side table at IKEA and she has a few things she wants to look for. If we make it to the mall I might splurge a little bit at LUSH and get a few more bath bombs and bubble bars. I’m pretty much all out of both and I really enjoy having them. I’ve been trying to take a bath once a week to warm up, relax and just take a time out from all the other things in my house.

Besides a little bit of shopping we are also going to go to lunch. We’ve both been craving one of our favorite boba places, so we’re definitely going there, and then I’ve been craving Panera Bread so we’re going to Panera for lunch. I am SO EXCITED! Both to see one of my besties and to get some good food. With being sick I’m not sure what I’ll end up ordering because I feel like trying to eat my favorite sandwich might be tough on my throat, but I’m sure I’ll end up with a pick 2 of some kind. Soup and salad or something. I love their food and I really really love their bread!

I’m not sure what kind of nightstand/side table I’m going to try to pick up at IKEA. I know I want something small, light, easy to move because I want to set it next to my bed. But the IKEA bed that I have, which I’ve talked about in a previous blog, has drawers on one side that I keep all of my movies in. The way I have my bed set up right now is I guess kind of sideways, where I want to put the table is where the drawers are, so it needs to be something I can move easily so I can still get to my movies. Which has been the dilemma so far. I have a couple different side table options already, stuff I own or that is just sitting around the house, but it’s all too heavy and hard to move, or doesn’t fit the space. So I’m trying to find something that is just right.

What I have in mind is one of those super cheap and easy to put together Lack side tables, but I’m thinking it might be too square and wide. I need something small, but functional. I don’t want to spend $25 on something that I can only fit one thing on at a time. But I need something to set a cup on at least. I find that when I come home from work I really like having a hot cup of tea because it’s cold and the tea is nice and hot and helps warm me up and relax me before going to sleep. But right now I’m setting my cup on an upside down trash can that’s a little too low and small for my liking. It makes me nervous to pick it up and set it down because I’m afraid I’m going to spill. And I’m afraid my dogs are going to knock it off the top.

I’m still working on my room, so while I’m at Ikea I’m going to keep an eye out for some other things that I want/need to make my room feel more perfect. I really want my room to be a kind of sanctuary. Once my grandparents get home Mexico I’m going to be spending a lot more, or at least as much, time in my room. I want it to be my favorite place. I think I mentioned that I’m going for pink and gold and white colors so I’m going to keep an eye out at Ikea for things that go with that. I’m super broke but super excited to at least go look at things, make a shopping list and start budgeting so I can buy things as I can afford them.

Sorry if this blog is really long and ramble-y. I’ll work on making them less all over the place and more I’m not sure what word I’m looking for, but you know what I mean.

Leave a Reply

