Uncategorized

Saturday Babysitting

I took Saturday off from work this week so I could babysit for a friend. I’ve known this women for more than half my life. She’s a good friend of my mom’s and she babysat me and my sister a few times. Then when I was 13 I started babysitting her son, who was maybe one or two when I started babysitting him. He’s in high school now and getting ready to start driving. It’s crazy to think of how long ago that was.

Now I’m babysitting her daughter, who is three. I used to nanny for her. When she was only three months old I think I started watching her a few days a week while her mom was at work. She’s grown so much since then and has turned into quite the little lady.

Anyway, her mom and my mom decided to spend the day together, go wine tasting and such, so they asked if I’d be willing to babysit while they go out. Since she’s going to pay pretty much what I would have made at work today I decided to go ahead and take the day off. Babysitting is easier than going to work, and I don’t have to do it for nearly as long as I would have had to be at work.

Work isn’t hard necessarily, but it’s a pain in the ass. I don’t like dealing with all of the people. In reality I’m not much of a people person in a face to face kind of way. I much prefer texted based communication so face to face communication is just irritating. And it’s such a long day. Or a long four days since I work four days in a row all day long.

Taking this extra “day off” was really nice. We played a few games, went to the park, ate some pizza, and watched a few movies. I watched a lot of kid shows and did a lot of three-year-old pretend games. We played with play-dough and colored a couple pictures.

She started winding down around 7 o-clock but wasn’t ready to sleep by any means. The original arrangement was for me to babysit until 8 and for one of the first times EVER she actually got home fairly close to 8. I think it was 8:22 when she walked through the door. And her daughter was SO EXCITED to see her.

I didn’t know at the time, but apparently she hasn’t had to stay with a traditional babysitter in quite a while. She’s stayed with family most of the time so it had been a long time since she had stayed with someone she wasn’t super familiar with. But as it turns out, I’m still an awesome babysitter. I was told repeatedly by this little girl that she wants me to be her babysitter all the time and I am the best babysitter ever. It was really cute.

Overall it was a pretty good day. I ended up getting home later than planned because I spent almost an hour talking with my mom and our friend before I left to go home. By the time I got home I was super tired and just ready to crash. It wasn’t super late or anything, but it was late enough. I watched TV for a bit after getting home and then went to bed. I didn’t want to stay up too late because I had to work in the morning.

Leave a Reply

