Uncategorized

Groceries

Hey Everyone,

So I got to finally do some healthy grocery shopping on Friday afternoon.

I’m not sure if I did a great job shopping but I did my best. I ended up going to Target because I had a gift card still from Christmas for $25. It allowed me to get more things and worry a little bit less about my budget. My goal was to spend as little of $100 as I could while still getting enough food to last me a little while.

I ended up spending like $81 out of the $100 I had in cash. Not too bad. I saved about $12 with Cartwheel (Target’s coupon app) and got a few things that were on sale anyway so that saved me some money too. Then with the $25 gift card I was down to about $81. Not too bad for what I got, which I’ll list in a second. I tried to stick to items that were on the Cartwheel app or things I definitely needed.

I got:

  • a bag of fresh cut sweet potato chunks
  • one whole sweet potato
  • a bag of yellow onions
  • some tomatoes
  • a box of spinach spring mix
  • sour cream
  • 2 packages of 93% lean ground beef (1 lb each)
  • 2 green bell peppers
  • 3 mostly green bananas
  • a bag of frozen strawberries and bananas
  • a bag of frozen blueberries
  • a bag of frozen mangos and strawberries
  • a bag of frozen chicken breasts
  • a jug of skim milk
  • 4 Chobani crunch yogurts
  • 2 different types of non dairy creamer to try, both coconut based I think
  • a box of Kashi cereal (I don’t remember exactly which one but it’s pretty basic)
  • some cream of wheat
  • a bag of shredded taco cheese
  • a cucumber
  • a bag of baby carrots
  • a case of bottled water
  • 2 containers of coconut water
  • a jar of smooth peanut butter
  • a can of refried beans
  • 3 avocados
  • a pack of photo paper (one of two non grocery items)
  • a pack of cotton rounds (the other non grocery item)

I think that’s everything I got. Not a bad haul for the amount of money I spent I guess. The bags of frozen fruit mixes alone were like $9 each. Everything adds up. I think I did pretty well in terms of sticking with healthy, but tasty, items. Which is a big thing for me. If the food doesn’t taste good then I won’t eat it.

I ended up making tacos for dinner that night. And I’ll make something else tonight. My plan from now on is to make something Friday night that I can eat for the next day or two also. My hope is that if I make things that have left overs then I’ll have something to eat at night when I come home from work. Or something to take with me for lunch.

I got a few different options for breakfast stuff. Stuff that’s quick but yummy and healthy too. Lots of stuff for smoothies/smoothie bowls. I’ve been obsessed with trying to recreate the Chunky Strawberry bowl from Jamba Juice and I’ve found a few copycat recipes that I’m going to try. I think I have all the ingredients I need, but I’m not 100% sure because I wasn’t smart enough to save the recipe to my phone or use it to create any kind of shopping list. Oh well. If I’m missing some things I’ll pick them up later, it’s not that hard to do.

Oh, and I am SUPER excited that I picked up the pack of photo paper. I’m creating a travel/destination wall in my bedroom on my closet door. Something to inspire me to work towards my travel goals and remind me that there’s more in the world than my current location. I found a bunch of pictures online of gorgeous scenery, landscapes, cities, etc. and made “collages” out of them for me to print out and then put up on my wall. I also typed out some of the names of places that I know I want to visit and I typed them in different fonts but in the same size so I can sporadically place them on the wall also. I made some pictures bigger than others depending on what they were of. But I am really excited about getting it done. I think it’s going to look amazing. I just really didn’t want to print the pictures on generic printer paper. I wanted something heavier, a little more substantial. I was going to just get card stock or a heavier type of paper, but turns out the photo paper is cheaper.

Soon I’ll print out all the photos, cut them out as carefully as possible, and then play around with wall placement. I want them to look a little bit scattered, but I don’t want to end up with all of the same types of photos grouped together, so it’ll be interesting to see how it turns out. I already used wall decals to write the word “TRAVEL” on the closet door where I’ll be putting the photos and I’m going to put the photos and places around that. I’m really excited to get it done and I just hope I don’t run out of ink in my printer before I’m finished printing everything.

Leave a Reply

