Uncategorized

Clouded

Hey Everyone,

So I was thinking about my life, about reality and the way I see the world and I realized something. My idea of what the world is is incredibly clouded by all the of the movies and books that I’ve seen/read in my life. I’m sure this is a common thing for a lot of people, but I can’t help wondering how many of them actually realize it’s happening.

You hear all the time about people talking about how romance novels/movies have ruined their idea of relationships and romance. I can see how that would happen. Romance in the entertainment world is based on entertainment. It’s made to keep you entertained and to give you warm fuzzy feelings. It isn’t meant to be based on reality.

Romance novels are worse than movies in my opinion. I feel like in romance novels there is way less reality. I mean, besides the fact that about half of them are based on alternate universes and such or supernatural things, there’s always some super hot guy who doesn’t want to be in a long term relationship and ends up falling for the girl who is strong enough to resist him. Or who is nothing like what he thought he wanted. I mean, they’re all the same and they all end the same. Everyone gets a happily every after.

It’s unrealistic. The situations are unrealistic, the way everything plays out is crazy. I don’t know. Even Disney movies get blamed for giving people unrealistic expectations.

No, your man isn’t going to randomly break into song to tell you how much he cares about/loves you. If he does you’ve got a keeper.

And no, the girl you are lusting after isn’t going to fall in love with you after one smile. If she does, run, RUN far far away!

Okay, but seriously, back to my original point. My idea of the world is super clouded. I expect people to act and react the way they do in movies and books. Conversations don’t go that way, people don’t get emotional the way they do in movies, or they get angry when in movies they’d be sad or whatever. And I’ve realized that I try to act/react to things not necessarily based on what I’ve seen, but based on how I think other people will act/react based on what I’ve seen. So basically, I don’t (I think I don’t anyway) act the way people in movies and books do, but I feel like I expect others to and I try to adjust my responses and actions based on that.

Does that make any sense?

So I’m trying to keep my head in the present and in reality. I’m trying not to use movie and book experiences as a base for life. Because it’s unrealistic. And probably slightly damaging in the long run.

This is just something I was thinking about over the last few days. I was thinking about how hard I try to predict how situations or conversations are going to go and then I was trying to figure out why it is that I do that. And I sort of came up with the idea that a lot of what I’m thinking is going to happen in the real world is based on the fictional worlds that I’ve immersed myself in over the years.

While it may not be time to stop immersing myself in the fictional worlds that I love, it is time for me to focus more on reality and less on fantasy. Fantasy isn’t going to get my anywhere, but being able to focus on the reality and react accordingly is going to be a good thing. So I’m going to start trying to do that more. I’m going to pay attention to what’s really going on and stop trying to predict how things will happen. I’m going to stop expecting things to happen as they do in these fictional worlds and start waiting to see how it will go. There’s nothing I can do to change how other people are or how things go down so instead of adjusting everything about myself to try to control the outcome I’m just going to let things happen.

Sure I’ll still work towards my goals and I know that choices I make will have an impact on my life, but in the grand scheme of things I’m going to just sit back and see how the world works. I’m going to stop trying to control it and other people and I’m going to stop trying to figure everything out ahead of time. I’m going to stop worrying so much and I’m going to start living in reality more than fantasy. It’s time to reenter the real world and leave my fantasy worlds behind. I’ll still visit them, but they’ll be like a vacation home instead of my permanent home.

Leave a Reply

