Books, Uncategorized

What Did I Do?

Hey Everyone,

So I just bought my first audiobook on Audible.

If you haven’t checked out Audible yet, you totally should. It’s kind of amazing.

I’ve been using the free version that comes with having Amazon Prime for a while now, mostly to listen to some classic stories when I’m in my car on my way to and from work, but I haven’t been using it consistently.

Today I found a code online that gave me a book, a specific book, for free. So I did that. And then I realized that there were a couple of other books that I really wanted to read, but probably never would because they’re nonfiction and I have a really hard time physically reading nonfiction books. I can listen to them a lot easier than I can read them, especially when they’re read by someone with a good voice.

So the book I got for free with the code is The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up by Marie Kondo. It’s a book I’ve tried to read before at the advice of Carrot, but never finished. That was my first real foray into “purchasing” a book from Audible.

After that I spent a little bit of time looking up books that I’d heard a lot about and seen all over Instagram and Twitter and Facebook as being books that you need to read. Most of them are written by famous people and are actually meant to kind of change your life. But I couldn’t commit to buying any of them, or signing up for the actual 30-day free trial to get one book free to start.

Then I remembered

ANNA KENDRICK WROTE A BOOK!

I immediately looked it up and listened to a sample of scrappy little nobody. And I fell in love. Not only is the intro to the book funny, intriguing and a little bit exciting, it’s also read by Anna Kendrick herself. How do you pass something like that up?

Apparently, I don’t. As broke as I am I couldn’t afford the $20.99 they wanted to buy the audiobook on it’s own. So I broke down and signed up for the free 30-day trial. Naturally I’ll have to remember to cancel the subscription in a week or two, but for now I’m just so excited to get the book and get to listening to it!

I haven’t officially started it yet because the truth is it’s been all of 5 minutes since I downloaded it. And as excited as I am to listen to it, I want to be able to fully focus on it when I do read it and today I need to focus on cleaning and organizing my house. Or at least my room. I’m still trying to get it fully cleaned up, organized, and decluttered. Especially since I want to redecorate it soon. I’ve already started, but there’s more I want to do so I’m trying to keep it super picked up and tidy while I’ve got time and nothing else really going on.

So, I just wanted to share that with you guys. I officially got my first Audible audiobook(s) today. And I am so excited to start listening to scrappy little nobody.

Leave a Reply

