Uncategorized

My Headache(s)

Hey Everyone,

So in my last blog I mentioned something about me having trouble with headaches, but then I realized I hadn’t really discussed or explained that to any of you guys and therefore it probably wouldn’t make much sense to you when I said that my head was worse than normal.

I’ve had a headache, constant headache of some kind or another, since I was a junior in high school. Which was a really long time ago. So for years I’ve had a headache all the time.

Literally all the time.

It sounds ridiculous. It sounds like I’m making it up, I know. My mom and the doctors thought so too for a while. The thing with headaches is it’s really hard to prove that you’re actually experiencing them. Especially when it’s all the time.

I was lucky because my mom believed me after a short time and got me in to see a doctor. My regular physician ran a bunch of tests, and we tried a bunch of different medications for a month to two months at a time with no luck. He even had me try a bite guard to make sure I wasn’t grinding my teeth or clenching my jaw at night.

My headaches aren’t awful. Most of the time they’re incredibly easy to deal with. A super tiny annoyance, at least at this point. In the beginning they were harder to deal with, hurt a little bit more, wasn’t used to it. However, they could get really bad. Sometimes it would turn into a migraine. Sometimes it gets so bad that I can’t function. I don’t really get sick, but I end up needing to sleep and nothing else. Over the counter medications don’t even really take the edge off. Excederin can help take off the edge if I catch it pre-migraine, or at least keep it from becoming a full blown migraine. It doesn’t always work, but it’s usually worth a shot.

Besides the general pain that the headaches cause there aren’t too many other problems. It doesn’t effect my vision, although it can effect my appetite and overall ability to do things. But that stuff usually only comes with the bad headaches, the migraine type headaches.

Anyway, after my regular doctor ran some tests I was sent to a neurologist. He ran some more tests, ordered a CT scan, and even had my vision checked. We tried some more medications and all of my tests came back normal. He had me try a food diary to see if there was a connection between something I was ingesting and the headaches getting worse. There wasn’t. He was at a loss. In the end he recommended therapy saying that it was probably stress/anxiety/depression related. Unfortunately for him, I wasn’t experiencing any of those things at the time. I was a senior in high school by this point just as an FYI.

When therapy didn’t work and he had run out of medications to try and tests to run he decided that I have multiple types of headaches/migraines and that one or more are always in the works which is why the pain is constant and the medications don’t work. The different types need to be treated with different meds, and a lot of those meds counteract or interact with each other and shouldn’t be mixed.

For now I’m out of options for treating the headaches. The doctors (even my new doctor) doesn’t really know what to do about them. I’ve tried chiropractors, more therapy, new medications and some other things, but nothing has worked. The headaches are always there. Always on the edge of my consciousness. I try not to think about them too much, or focus on the pain too often, it only makes things worse.

Every once in a while I’ll think the headaches are gone, that I can’t feel them anymore and then I realize it’s still there, hiding in a corner of my brain. That’s one of the other things about these headaches, they aren’t all encompassing. They tend to move around and effect different areas of my head/brain. Sometimes it’ll be behind my eyes, sometimes all across my forehead, sometimes just at my left or right temple (like now), other times it’s at the back/base of my skull. It all depends on what it’s decided to do at the time. I have no control.

So that’s my story. That’s my one physical medical issue. It’s not devastating. Or even life changing really. It’s just something I’ve learned to deal with and adjust to.

Leave a Reply

