Uncategorized

Vacation Part III

Today we are going to work on some laundry. It’s overcast so we’ll have to use the generator to run stuff since the solar won’t be working at full power with no sunlight. We’re hoping the clouds will go away after a while and it’ll get sunny. While I enjoy the coolness of the clouds I came here looking for sunshine, not overcast days. It’s not as windy today as it has been though. For a couple of days it was so windy that the trailer we stay in would shake.

It’s Super Bowl Sunday so I know sometime later today we’ll be heading to a friend’s house to watch the game and hang out with a bunch of people. I think all the people we went to dinner with last night will be there along with who knows how many others. I’m actually quite nervous to go. I don’t really know anyone and I’m not a joiner like my mother. I’ll probably stay close to my grandma and her friends, or find a quiet place to sit down. I don’t really care about who wins the game, but I think it’ll be a good game so I wouldn’t mind seeing it. Although I’m not sure I’ll really spend that much time paying attention to it. It’s odd to think about watching something that’s such a big deal in America while I’m here in Mexico. I wanted to escape that part of my world and just be away, but it’s such a big game that everyone here (in the community it’s mostly Americans and Canadians) wants to watch it and see who wins. Plus it’s a great excuse for getting a bunch of people together to hang out, drink, and eat a bunch of food.

I’m sure I’ll have a good time. It’ll just take a little while to get used to all the people.

My arms are getting tan, but the rest of my isn’t. I brought a ton of sunscreen and I’ve barely used any of it. I want to get a tan, I want to enjoy and soak up the sun. I do not want to get sun burnt though. But I can’t soak up any sun with the sunscreen I brought with me. It’s SPF 70 and SPF 100. I’m never outside long enough for that to wear off so I’ve stopped putting it on. Hopefully I’ll put some on if we end up going outside for a longer period of time, but so far I’ve been fine. Today is so overcast it shouldn’t be much of a problem. I know you can still get burnt on overcast days, but I don’t think we’ll be spending enough time outside for that to be an issue.

It isn’t cold, but it’s a little chilly. The light breeze coupled with no sunshine makes it feel cooler than it is. And yesterday was pretty warm. It got up to 85 degrees inside the trailer and was almost the same temperature outside. I think that’s the warmest it’s been since I’ve been here.

I really am dreading going home. We were joking around yesterday about them needing help around here with the cooking, cleaning and bartending. I told them if I had money coming in monthly that I could use to support myself I would gladly come stay with them and do all of those things. But I can’t. I don’t have money coming in without a job, and I can’t work down here. Maybe some day I’ll be able to work from home and I’ll be able to travel and stay in amazing locations all the time while I continue working and being on vacation. Until then my life is what it is. I can dream about another life, but mine will still be there when I get home. I might as well get used to it, right?

I’m going to take my good camera to the Super Bowl party today. Grandma says the view from there is amazing and I’ll want to take photos. I also want to take some pictures of the party and the people there. I’ll email them to her when I get back and she can post them on the community Facebook page or email them on to the people in the photos, but I feel like some of the candid photos of large gatherings are the best photos to have. You can catch people at just the right moment. You can catch them laughing or making silly faces or just smiling at each other. It’s really an amazing thing to see.

Each picture represents a moment in time that will never happy again. No matter how much you try to replicate it it will never be exactly the same. It’s kind of incredible, and maybe a bit sad, to think about. I want to remember this place, these people, the feelings I had being here, and I want those things to live on in my memories and in the photos I take. I want constant reminders of the slow paced, fun, easy, care free life that exists down here. I need the calm and serenity that comes from being in a place like this.

Yesterday was the Super Bowl, so we went to a friend’s house and had a couple of drinks, “watched” part of the game. I met a bunch of people who were all really nice and ate a few snacks. Met a bunch of really sweet dogs. After the first half we headed over to the restaurant to meet up with some other people for some more drinks and more of the game. We left before the 4th quarter to head to one of the lady’s house to hang out with her and her family. Turns out her twin girls are from the same area I am. They’re a lot of fun and I really enjoyed meeting them. They’re beautiful, smart and funny so it was a lot of fun spending some time with them.

They even got me to do a shot of tequila. It was the girls’ cousin’s birthday so they were all doing birthday shots, I agreed to do one, with a lime chaser. It wasn’t too bad. After that we finished the game and we headed home shortly after the game was over. We were all tired, none of us had eaten much, and they all wanted to stay up and play drinking games. None of us were prepared to stay up and drink so we headed home and let them have their fun.

Leave a Reply

