Uncategorized

Vacation “Journal” Part I

It’s been 2 and a half days since I got to Mexico and I’ve been having a wonderfully non-busy time!

It’s been very relaxing so far. My grandparents picked me up from the airport. Unfortunately they got into a bit of an accident in the parking lot and we had to take care of that before we could head to the house. No one was hurt except the other car. The truck accidentally broke the driver’s side mirror and dinged up the door a little bit. It was a rental car so we had to go to the rental agency to talk to them about paying for damages. I don’t remember the final cost but as far as I was concerned it wasn’t nearly as bad as I thought it was going to be. Although my grandparents were pretty upset about the whole thing.

Afterwards we stopped by the supermarket to pick up a few things we needed at the house and I grabbed a couple of things to drink while I’m here. Really I just grabbed a six-pack of Coca Cola. Anyone who has traveled to Mexico, or had a Mexican coke will know that there is a difference in flavor because of the way they make their Coke versus the way they make it in/for the US. Some people say it’s all about using real sugar versus fake sugars, I don’t know if that’s the only difference or not, but the Mexican Coke sure tastes better. After we picked up the things we needed we headed to get some fuel for the generator and quads. Then we headed home.

It takes a little while to drive home from the airport, and it isn’t always an easy ride. Only part of the road home is paved and the parts that aren’t paved can be incredibly bumpy. Luckily we were in the big truck that can handle the road well and it wasn’t too bad and didn’t take too long. So much has changed since the last time I was here (6 years ago) that it was really cool to see all the improvements that had been made and to see some of the leftover damage from the hurricane that hit last year.

We spent the rest of the day at home. We were all tired and my grandparents were a little cranky about their little accident in the parking lot. I feel so guilty about asking them to pick me up since in the big picture they wouldn’t have been there if it weren’t for that. But they keep telling me that it isn’t my fault. I know it isn’t really my fault, but I still feel bad. We had meatloaf sandwiches for dinner and went to bed early since we were all so tired.

We got up around 7:30 or so the next morning and just hung out around the house reading and looking at the property. They gave me a tour of the yard, pointing out all the new additions and telling me about all the animals that come and go. We checked out and watered the garden they have and talked about their crops and harvests and how well it’s all been going. It was really nice to just be outside in the sunshine walking around and they’ve made so many changes to the property since I was here last there was a lot to see.

We had breakfast, my grandma is a great cook and my grandpa prefers to eat at home so we’ll be eating at home most of the time I’m here, which I’m fine with. She made us omelettes and cut up an orange for us. It was actually kind of heavenly. The wind kept picking up so we decided going to the beach wasn’t a good idea unless we wanted sand in our eyes, and since I wear contacts I figured that was a really bad idea. I started a new book my grandma wanted me to read (I’ve almost finished it now) and we talked and visited at the house. It was a really nice day in the mid to high seventies, and by mid afternoon we were really appreciating the wind for it’s coolness. We had tri-tip with baked potatoes and fresh green beans from their garden. We also had fresh carrots, green onions, cucumber, bell pepper, avocado, and celery with ranch. Everything was amazing and we were all so fully when dinner was over. We had planned to make popcorn but ended up not being hungry enough. We sat around and talked until bedtime. Once everyone went to bed I read some more of the book grandma gave me and then went to sleep. I have no idea what time it was, it gets so dark here that I can’t see the clock without turning on the flashlight and most of the time I just can’t be bothered. Time just isn’t as important here.

This morning we were up a bit earlier and we all took a walk around the neighborhood. I was going to take pictures but I was having too much fun just walking. It’s been so long since I was able to just take a walk. And it was nice to just take it all in and hear about all the different places that I was looking at. My grandparents know quite a bit about the area and what’s around so it’s fun to talk with them about things and learn about what I’m looking at or hear stories about things that have gone on around here.

We stopped at an organic farmers market to pick up some more vegetables and fresh tortillas on the way back from the walk. When we got home the wind was starting to pick up so they got some things done outside and then we all sort of hunkered down in the house to read our books and magazines. Some of us took a nap. Now we’re headed to the restaurant just up the road to work on their wifi. I’m helping my grandma with her computer, she’s having trouble downloading magazines for my grandpa to read. The e-reader she has is too small so we’re going to try to get them on her computer instead since it has a much bigger screen.

I’ll write up what happens the rest of the day either as the day goes on or tonight before bed. I think it’ll be easiest to type up a couple of days at a time and have them all be one post. At least until I add pictures. Once I add pictures things will get a little bit longer.

I’ve also had a chance to meet some of the local wildlife (some really sweet donkeys) and some of the local pets. I’ve met Duke, who belongs to the restaurant. Lizzie, who belongs to some neighbors. And then at the farmers’ market I met Ace, Kiki, Bobby, Jack and Josie. All dogs. Kiki is a 10 weeks old puppy who is absolutely adorable! She’s being fostered by a local. She’s a gorgeous gray color and so soft.

We had lunch at the restaurant. It was fantastic! I had chicken tacos! They were so yummy! Grilled chicken, pico de gallo, lettuce/cabbage and a flour tortilla. Simple but so tasty! We had pina coladas to go with our dinner. Grandma and I had 2 each, plus our food. Grandpa had a couple margaritas I think and his hamburger. I was the only one that ordered Mexican food. They’re here so much that they like to eat American food sometimes. Grandma had chicken strips. I snagged a couple of french fries to go with my tacos, rice and beans. Everything was really yummy! Now we’re home again and just relaxing.

Grandma got new books to read on her e-reader, Grandpa is thinking about taking another nap, and I’m going to work on finishing that book I started yesterday. I’m almost finished with it but Grandma has decided I need to read the second one too. So I’ll be starting that one when I’m done. I have a bunch of my own books that I brought with me to read, but I haven’t started any of them yet. I figured I’d read hers first and save mine for afterwards. She has tons of books on her e-reader that I could read while I’m here. We’ll see how much I get up to. It’s fun. They’re all simple easy ready. Light and light-hearted. Free and easy. Etc. They’re just quick reads, nothing too serious.

We didn’t do much that night. Hung around. I think we may have ended up watching another movie, but I can’t really remember. I know we watched a Jesse Stone movie one night and had popcorn. That was a lot of fun. We also watched a movie called The Magic of Belle Isle one day, but I don’t remember which day. Since the days don’t matter much here they’ve started to run together and if I don’t write things down every day I start to forget what it is that I did that day or the day before.

*Alright guys, I’m having trouble getting my pictures from my camera to my laptop so I’ll upload pictures of things ASAP*

Leave a Reply

