Uncategorized

San Francisco

I went to San Francisco with one of my BFFs yesterday and had an amazing time!

We drove into town and parked down by Pier 39. I’ve never really been to San Francisco. I’ve been down there, I’ve even technically walked the entire Pier 39 area, but I didn’t get to go inside anything or check out all of the touristy shops before, so that was our goal yesterday.

We went into a bunch of shops. Krazy Caps (Kaps?) and Sock Heaven and all kinds of places. We had a blast. We bought some hats, a pink and black California Republic baseball cap for me, and a kitty baseball hat for her, with ears and everything. Was super adorable on her and totally goes with her personality. I’ll be calling her Kitty in the blogs from now on.

Kitty and I had lunch at Bubba Gumps, we got exactly the same thing. I sort of picked our drink and she inadvertently picked our meal. I opened the menu and immediately was drawn in to a drink called the Strawberry Basil Smash, which was basically strawberries, vodka, basil, sweet & sour, and Sierra Mist (I think that’s pretty much it). It was so good! I wish I had taken pictures. I rarely drink, but I decided it sounded too amazing to pass up and I’m so glad I didn’t. For lunch we ordered Shrimpers Heaven. Which is a dish consisting of four different cooked shrimp. Four different styles of cooking that is. One set is tempura battered, one is traditionally breaded and fried, one is grilled, and one was coated in coconut. So much yum in one dish! It also came with 3 styles of dipping sauce and french fries.

Needless to say I didn’t eat very many french fries and I was super full when I was done.

IMG_15679426098431

After lunch we decided to walk around some more. We saw the sea lions and went to the Ripley’s Believe It or Not museum. That was a lot of fun! I was really looking forward to it and I wasn’t disappointed. Even though it isn’t a crazy amount of stuff it is all crazy. There are some great interactive displays. We also paid to go through the Hall of Mirrors and the Laser Obstacle Course. It was such a blast! The mirrors were really trippy and I had a hard time believing my eyes. I kept thinking I was going to walk into something so I had my hands out in front of me the whole time which made Kitty laugh endlessly. She kept telling me to just watch for my reflection, but there were so many mirrors all facing so many ways that sometimes you’d see you’re reflection on the other side of a doorway and not realize there was an opening there. They provide gloves by the way so you don’t get fingerprints all over the glass.

The laser course was probably my favorite part. You get to choose how difficult you want it to be, and since neither of us had done it before we chose medium. You go one at a time and it’s a lot like it sounds. The room has lasers pointing a bunch of different directions and you have to maneuver through them, without breaking the beams, to reach different check points within the room. Kitty went first and I got to watch her on a screen outside the room. It was a lot of fun. She did pretty well and only broke the beam 6 times. Since we weren’t sure how it worked we took our bags and everything with us so it was far more difficult trying to maneuver through it all with a bag hanging off your arm. On top of that she and I have big chests and big butts so that doesn’t help at all. I almost feel like I cheated when it was my turn. I just army crawled underneath the whole thing. There were 2 checkpoints and I managed to get to them both, and get back to the start without touching any of the beams. In the end my score (based on speed and number of beams broken) was seven-thousand-something. We both had a good laugh at the whole thing.

After Ripley’s we walked over to Ghirradeli Square to get a sundae, but the shop was closed for remodel. We were so bummed, we really wanted ice cream.

We started walking back towards where our car was parked and decided to stop into a candy store called It’sugar. The store was so cool! They had giant sized boxes of bubble gum, Nerds, Pop Rocks, ChupaChups, and all kids of things! It was incredible! (If you’re a candy lover like me.) We decided to pick up some candy to taste test on the way home. I got a box of rock candy, it’s so cute. It’s got 6 individual compartments, each with it’s own color/flavor of rock candy. I also got Neapolitan Astronaut Ice Cream (SO YUMMY), strawberry licorice wheels, Matcha flavored Pocky, and a bottle of hand sanitizer (for my coworker) that says “Bitch Slap Those Germs!”. She’s kind of a germaphobe.

Besides the hat and the candy the only thing I bought besides food was a $13 pair of gloves at Sock Heaven. They’re really cute, fingerless, furry gloves in black. I’m in love with them and can’t wait to wear them! (I’ve been home all day and it’s too warm in the house to wear them.)

We headed home after the candy shop, trying to beat as much traffic as possible. It still took a while, and traffic was really crappy for quite a ways, but we had a good time talking and trying candy. I dropped Kitty off at her house and then I headed home. After an early morning and a ton of walking we were both pooped and ready for a nap, or bed.

It was a wonderful day, overcast without being too cold and it only sprinkled as we were driving out of the city. Overall it was a fantastic day and a wonderful pre-vacation with one of my besties!

IMG_15739607203982

Leave a Reply

