Letters, Uncategorized

Melody, Melody

Melody,

Darling girl who I barely know. I worry about you, I worry for you and in my own strange way I pray for you.

At 16 years old life is still brand new for you. You feel like an adult, you want people to treat you that way, but that isn’t how it works yet.

At 27 years old I would be an idiot to say that I know how the world works, that I know how life works, or to assume I know more than you do. I’m not saying that at all. But I feel that over these weeks we’ve been talking I’ve been someone you can come to for advice, whether you take it or not, and I hope the advice I’ve been giving you has been decent. I want nothing but the best for you.

I want to spare you all the heartache and the drama and the unnecessary evils of high school. But I can’t. I wish I could. You are such a sweet girl and you deserve to have a sweet life. I wish you weren’t so sad. I wish you could see how blessed you are in this life. How amazing it is that you have the things you have and can do the things you do.

I know life at 16 can be tough. I know you don’t have it easy. You’ve told me about some of the difficulties you face and have faced. I can’t tell you I understand or know how you feel because I haven’t been where you are. I’ve been through my own things I can tell you about the things I’ve been through and hope my past experiences can help you, but that’s all I can offer, besides I shoulder to cry on.

I love the conversations we’ve been having, I’ve enjoyed getting to know you and I sincerely hope we stay friends for a while and that I can help you by being here for you as a calm and rational person to talk to about things. I know it’s something I wish I had had at your age. I had some really great friends, but I didn’t really have any third party, outside person or people to talk to about things going on at school or at home. I hope I can be that person for you for as long as you need it.

I know our friendship won’t last forever. The age difference alone causes some difficulties, as does the long distance between us. When, or if, we part ways I hope you know that it will never be because I don’t care for you and I hope you know that I will never not wonder how you are doing or hoping that whatever is going on in your life that you’re happy.

But I hope that day is a long ways off or never comes.

I hope one day you find this. On a day you need it most. On a day you feel alone or lost or you just need to know that someone cares. You can’t always count on music to save the day (wink wink) sometimes you need real people. Don’t be afraid to ask for help when you need it. Don’t be afraid to stand your ground and fight for what you want. Pick your battles, but don’t be so afraid that you let everyone push you around.

Focus in school. Please please please do your best and go to college. Go to college and become the amazing person I know you can be. Don’t let people hold you back. Don’t let fear hold you back. Let fear and people push you forward. Let them push you to be the best version of you that you can be. And be happy. Above all else be happy.

Find the thing that speaks to your soul and hold on to it. And remember you can always find me here if you need me.

Leave a Reply

