Uncategorized

For A Minute

For a minute I forgot. I forgot that my grandpa is now sick and dying.

How do you forget something like that?

I was going about my day not really thinking about anything except what I have to do and BAM! it hit me like a brick to the face.

My grandpa has cancer.

He has cancer.

Cancer.

And he is going to die.

Right now I have no one to talk to about it except my sister because she’s the only one that’s mentioned it. She’s the one that told me.

I’m sure everyone else is lost in their own world right now. But I’m surprised my mom didn’t call me or something. I hardly ever see her anymore. Maybe my grandma wants to tell me. I was supposed to have lunch with her this week. I got stuck at work. So maybe she’s waiting for me to have time to have lunch so she can tell me. Or maybe she thinks my mom will. I don’t know.

I can’t believe I forgot. Will it always be like this? Will I constantly forget and then get slapped in the face by it?

And what will it be like when it’s over?

Leave a Reply

