Uncategorized

A Designer? Me?

My best friend from high school, Carrot (a nickname of sorts), and I were talking last night about my helping her decorate her apartment when she moves in a couple of weeks. She lives in Oregon and works as a librarian. She’s an amazing friend. I love her to death and miss her terribly. We really only get to see each other about once a year. We always say we’ll find a way to see each other more often, but it’s difficult with her work schedule and living in different states.

However, when she moves for her new job in a couple of weeks she’s going to have a whole new apartment to decorate and while she’s got a pretty good idea what she wants to do she’s asked me to help her decorate it with an eclectic style.

She says she’s always liked the way I put things together in my room and thinks it’s great that I’ve managed to do it in such an inexpensive but fun way. I don’t really know what to say in response because all I do is buy things I like and find a place to put them. But apparently I buy good things and put them in good places. Everyone seems to love my current room (when it’s clean and tidy that is).

Usually I paint my walls, or at least one wall, in every room I live in. I hate having all plain, white walls. In my current living situation I don’t feel comfortable painting the walls so I’ve had to use artwork to breakup the boring white. Luckily I have 2 large windows so I have a lot of natural light and it helps take up the empty walls. One wall is mostly my closet and the sliding doors are wood, so they aren’t white and it helps break up the monotony.

Like I said, I’ve added art to the walls, some mirrors to help it feel lighter and bigger (although to be honest it’s a rather large room) and some other pieces of decor. I’ve got some marquee letters (#NO) on one wall, some “Photo Booth” strips and memories on another. I’ve got decorative lights around one window and draped along the all behind my television to add some mood lighting. Then I’ve got little decorative things on different tabletops in the room; flowers, candles, books, knick knacks, and some fake plants (I can never keep real ones alive).

My room is an eclectic mix of all kinds of things. I buy things I like and find a way to make them work, even if it doesn’t seem like it would go in my room. I have a Buddha statue on one table top, My Little Pony figures on another, pink and green flowers in one vase and white and orange flowers in another. If you put all of my decorative stuff on one table, or against one wall it wouldn’t look like it would go together or work. You could find little groups of things that would work together, but there would be odd-ball pieces that would stand out.

Carrot wants me to use my ability to make random things work together to help her decorate her new apartment. And on a budget. Luckily for both of us I do a lot of my decor shopping at places like Marshalls and Ikea, both incredibly cost effective. I also do a lot of shopping at Target. I like to get my mirrors and fake plants at Ikea, decorative pillows, blankets, candles and books at Target, and all sorts of things I find at Marshalls. Honestly Marshalls is the first store I go to when I’m looking for new pieces to add to my room. It’s inexpensive and you never know what you might find.

Anyway, the conversation that she and I had led to us discussing my future (since I haven’t decided what to do with it yet) and she suggested I consider interior design as a career. It’s an idea I’d toyed with off and on for a long time. I’m mildly obsessed with design shows and I love decorating spaces. When I lived with my father I practically redecorated my room every six months. I’d rearrange the furniture, repaint the walls, change the bedding, and I loved every minute of it. So I’d considered it as a career, but was afraid. I’m still afraid. It’s not a guaranteed career. Although I suppose at this point nothing is.

She gave me some great resources to check into the field and see if I might really want to try it out as a career. I’m already working on getting a degree of some kind so I’ve got some kind of plan. I don’t have to have a degree in interior design to work in interior design, but if I get a degree in something and then decide to go somewhere like FIDM then I might really be able to get my foot in the door and make a real go of being an interior designer. But it is such a scary thought right now.

Leave a Reply

