Uncategorized

New Computer

I got my new computer today. My Macbook Pro arrived at 2:30-ish today. I’m so excited to get to play with it!

I’ve been messing with it almost non-stop since it arrived. I’ve been alternating between learning how to use it and cleaning my room since it’s been a HUGE mess since about the week before Christmas. Getting everything packed, wrapped and out of my room has been a chore. I still have two packages that need to be hand delivered to their recipients and two that need to be shipped. I’m behind on my gift giving. Partly because I hate shipping things and partly because I haven’t had the opportunity to see the people I need to give the gifts to. Hopefully I’ll be able to fix that soon.

One will be taken away tomorrow to be delivered to the family it goes to, and hopefully the other will be delivered next week when I’m off work again. Technically I’m not on the clock yet but I will be starting tomorrow sometime. And it’s a damn good thing. I’m going broke.

Between the $1200 I spent on my computer, Christmas shopping, and not working for the last two weeks my bank account is starting to suffer. Honestly it isn’t as bad as I’m making it sound. I’m still well within my panic limit (the imaginary limit I put on my bank account balance, I panic when my balance ends up below this amount even though the limit I set is always far more than I must have to pay my bills), but I have bills coming up and the added cost of tuition and text books (which I haven’t even checked into yet). So, even though I haven’t hit my panic limit yet I know I could get dangerously close if I don’t get some work in and get a paycheck soon.

So starting work tomorrow will be a happy thing, even if I don’t really want to do the work. Which is a rather sad thing to say, but I can’t help it.

Today I’ve cleaned my room rather well. I still have plenty to do but I can do a lot of that over the next few days while I’m working. Benefits of working at home and having a decent bit of downtime. I’ve also started cleaning and preparing to get rid of much of the food I have in the house. I’m starting a diet. I’ll discuss it in my next post. How it’ll work, what I’m hoping to get out of it, what I’ll do in addition to the food, and everything else I can think of.

But this post is supposed to be about the computer, not all the randomness of the day.

I’m obsessed with it! But that’s not surprising since it’s new and technology so there’s quite a bit to discover. Especially since it’s a whole new platform. Everything is taking some getting used to. The keyboard is smaller than I’m used to and the mouse is a totally new experience. I mean, sure the mouse (trackpad) works just as any other mouse would. You put your finger(s) on it and move them around it and it moves the cursor on the screen and things. But with a Mac the number of fingers you use on the mouse is very important. Two fingers will scroll up and down, or side to side if there’s something to move side to side. Three fingers scrolling upward on the mouse will bring up some kind of control panel of sorts, it shows you everything you have open and you can choose what you’d like to look at. Etc. There’s all kinds of things that you can do. Pinching your fingers on the mouse will zoom in or out depending on how you move your fingers. I mean, the things you can do with just the mouse baffles me.

From time to time I forget to take my second finger off the mouse when I’m trying to just move the cursor and I end up moving the entire page. It’s almost amusing.

I have to remember that using the “command” key isn’t the same as using the “control” key on a PC keyboard. I keep wanting to use it for things I used to do on my PC. I’m afraid to find out if it will do some of the same things or not. I have friends who have macs that I’ll talk to about some of the things I can’t or won’t figure out on my own.

The battery life on this thing is kind of incredibly though. It was charged right out of the box so I played with it for a while and then had to plug it in in order for some updates to install (requirements of the computer, not the battery itself). Once that was done I unplugged it again and have been using it off and on for the past 3 or so hours and the battery is still at 67%. I’m really pleased with the battery right now, we will see if it stays this good for a long time or a short time. The good news is writing this will be a good way of helping me keep track. So, don’t be surprised if from time to time I throw in a random something or other about the battery life of the Mac and how it’s holding up.

The only thing I’m missing so far is a CD/DVD reader. All the software is here, but the hardware isn’t. At some point I’ll need to buy an external CD/DVD drive. So I can add music to my iTunes library and things, download any software that doesn’t come with an online download option, and to do anything else that I might need one for. In the meantime I have an empty flash drive I can use to transport music and files from my PC to the mac.

I’m working on figuring out how to personalize the computer. So far I’ve changed the background and changed some of the settings so the screen doesn’t shut off so quickly, set up my password, set up my email, calendar and messaging services. I’m not sure what else I can do, which is really fine because there isn’t much that I need to personalize.

Since it’s only day one, and not even a full day at that, I’ll refrain from making and kind of decision about whether mac is better than PC or vice versa. So far I’m really happy with my mac, but I’ve always been really happy with my PC as well. So, we shall see how it goes.

Leave a Reply

