Helpful Handouts, Uncategorized

Emotion Regulation Handout 18

Values and Priorities List

In my own Wise Mind, I believe it is important to:

Attend to relationships.

  1. Repair old relationships
  2. Reach out for new relationships
  3. Work on current relationships
  4. End destructive relationships
  5. Other

Be part of a group.

  1. Have close and satisfying relationships with others
  2. Feel a sense of belonging
  3. Receive affection and love
  4. Be involved and intimate with others; have and keep close friends
  5. Have a family; stay close to and spend time with family members
  6. Have people to do things with
  7. Other

Be powerful and able to influence others.

  1. Have the authority to approve or disapprove of what people do, or to control how resources are used
  2. Be a leader
  3. Make a great deal of money
  4. Be respected by others
  5. Be seen by others as successful; become well known; obtain recognition and status
  6. Compete successfully with others
  7. Be popular and accepted
  8. Other

Achieve things in life.

  1. Achieve significant goals; be involved in undertakings I believe are significant
  2. Be productive
  3. Work toward goals; work hard
  4. Be ambitious
  5. Other

Live a life of pleasure and satisfaction.

  1. Have a good time
  2. Seek fun and things that give pleasure
  3. Have free time
  4. Enjoy the work I do
  5. Other

Keep life full of exciting events, relationships, and things

  1. Try new and different things in life
  2. Be daring and seek adventures
  3. Have an exciting life
  4. Other

Behave respectfully.

  1. Be humble and modest; do not draw attention to myself
  2. Follow traditions and customs; behave properly
  3. Do what I am told and follow rules
  4. Treat others well
  5. Other

Be self-directed.

  1. Follow my own path in life
  2. Be innovative, think of new ideas, and be creative
  3. Make my own decisions and be free
  4. Be independent; take care of myself and those I am responsible for
  5. Have freedom of thought and action; be able to act in terms of my own priorities
  6. Other

Be a spiritual person.

  1. Make room in life for spirituality; life life according to spiritual principles
  2. Practice a religion of faith
  3. Grow in understanding of myself, my personal calling, and life’s real purpose
  4. Discern and do the will of God (or a higher power) and find a lasting meaning in life
  5. Other

Be secure.

  1. Live in secure and safe surroundings
  2. Be physically healthy and fit
  3. Have a steady income that meets my own and family’s basic needs
  4. Other

Recognize the universal good of all things.

  1. Be fair, treat people equally, and provide equal opportunities
  2. Understand different people; be open-minded
  3. Care for nature and the environment
  4. Other

Contribute to the larger community.

  1. Help people and those in need; care for others’ well-being; improve society
  2. Be loyal to friends and devoted to close people; be committed to a group that shares my beliefs, values, and ethical principles
  3. Be committed to a cause or to a group that has a larger purpose beyond my own
  4. Make sacrifices for others
  5. Other

Work at self-development.

  1. Develop a personal philosophy of life
  2. Learn and do challenging things that help me grow and mature as a human being
  3. Other

Have integrity.

  1. Be honest, and acknowledge and stand up for my personal beliefs
  2. Be a responsible person; keep my word to others
  3. Be courageous in facing and living life
  4. Be a person who pays debts to others and repairs damage I have caused
  5. Be accepting of myself, others, and life as it is; live without resentment
  6. Other

Other:

Adapted from Schwartz, S. H. (1992). Universals in the content and structure of values: Theory and empirical tests in 20 countries. In M. Zanna (Ed.) Advances in experimental social psychology (Vol. 25, pp. 1-65). New York: Academic Press. Copyright 1992 by Academic Press. Adapted by permission of Elsevier B. V.
From DBT Skills Training Handouts and Worksheets, Second Edition, by Marsha M. Linehan. Copyright 2015 by Marsha M. Linehan. Permission to photocopy this handout is granted to purchasers of DBT Skills Training Handouts and Worksheets, Second Edition, and DBT Skills Training Manual, Second Edition, for personal use and use with individual clients only. (See page ii of this packet for details.)

 

The instructions I got from my therapist for this worksheet was to go through the list and circle all of the smaller things that I feel are important to me. Circle the larger topic of the ones that I’ve circled many of the sub-topics of. Pick my top three and then brainstorm things I can do, or need to do that would be in service of achieving those goals.

Leave a Reply

