Uncategorized

My Name is Nicole….

And I AM a shopaholic.

Seriously, I am. It’s been a huge problem for me for like the last 10 years or so. Ever since I started working really.

It isn’t as bad as it sounds. I don’t spend money I don’t have and I can always pay my bills, in full and on time. But when I spend money I really spend money!

As an example, in the last week or two I have spent around one thousand dollars. Yes, you read that correctly….

$1,000. In 1-2 weeks. 

Granted, $300 was on a new 40″ smart TV that I bought on black Friday. But I didn’t really need it. I just wanted it. I bought a PS3 a few months ago and borrowed some games from a friend. I’ve been playing Red Dead Redemption off and on since I got the game system and I really like it, but it was hard to play in my room (where everything is located and I spend 75% of my time) on my 32″ TV with all of the words and things showing up on the screen all the time. I wear contacts so I have decent vision, but it felt like I was really straining my eyes trying to read the instructions on the screen. (This is what I do, I rationalize my spending so I don’t have to feel as guilty about it. *slaps my hand with a ruler*)

A big chunk of the rest of the money I’ve spent was on Christmas gifts and I’m not almost done shopping. I have 4 or 5 people left is all. Which isn’t bad considering I started with closer to 20 people. Those that are left are hard to shop for or I just haven’t purchased their present(s) yet.

This time of year is the hardest for me. Or the easiest for me depending on how you look at it. It’s the easiest time of year for me to spend money, and the hardest time of year for me to control myself. I love buying things for other people and I love buying things for a good price. So Black Friday, Cyber Monday and the days that follow are big shopping days for me. I try really hard not to buy a ton of things but sometimes the deals are too good to pass up. (Again, more rationalizing.)

I tried really hard this year not to go too overboard with my shopping. I think in the long run I did okay. I got quite a bit for my money and it’s not like my television is a short term purchase. I’m not going to get rid of it in 2 weeks or get bored with it in a month or two. (Still more rationalizing.)

I’m ashamed of myself for spending so much money in such a short amount of time. Tomorrow I’m going to retype and post my “Shopping Pros & Cons” worksheet that I did with my therapist so I can remind myself why I need to be more careful with my money and why shopping isn’t as important as I seem to think it is.

On a side note, my therapist gave me a challenge of not spending money and instead putting the money that I would normally spend shopping into a jar, and in about a month I’ve saved $950. About as much as I’ve spent in the last couple of weeks. So, if it wasn’t for her challenge I would have spent almost double in the last month. Yikes!

Leave a Reply

